Last year, the Washington Supreme Court considered the following certified question: “Does the Washington Minimum Wage Act require non-agricultural employers to pay their piece-rate employees per hour for time spent performing activities outside of piece-rate work?” On September 5, 2019, the court answered with a resounding no.
As of July 28, 2019, Washington employers with 15 or more employees are required to provide reasonable break time for employees to express breast milk.
Like many other states, Washington recently adopted legislation seemingly preventing the arbitration of harassment and discrimination claims in direct response to the #MeToo movement.
On May 8, 2019, Washington State Governor Jay Inslee signed new restrictions on noncompetition covenants for Washington employees. The new restrictions are effective January 1, 2020.
After several years of failed attempts, the state of Washington passed a law on April 17, 2019 that will significantly limit the enforceability of noncompetition agreements under Washington law. Governor Jay Inslee has not yet signed the act into law, but it is expected that Governor Inslee will promptly do so.
Although the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries (L&I) has yet to finalize the new annual salary required for exempt status, it intends to propose a new salary basis test that would more than double the current federal salary threshold.
On August 27, 2018, the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) announced that it would be conducting a series of listening sessions in various cities across the United States to solicit feedback on the overtime rule. The DOL, which plans to update the Fair Labor Standards Act’s Part 541 white collar exemption regulations, held sessions open to the public in Atlanta, GA; Seattle, WA; Kansas City, MO; Denver, CO; and Providence, RI throughout September. On Wednesday, October 17, 2018, the U.S. Department of Labor’s (DOL) Wage and Hour Division (WHD) conducted its last public listening session to solicit views and opinions on the Part 541 overtime or white-collar regulations.
Joining Hawaii, Maryland and Connecticut, all of which have voted to gradually raise their state minimum wages to $10.10 per hour, and Massachusetts, which has voted to gradually increase its minimum wage to $11.00 per hour, Seattle has become the first city to pass a $15.00 per hour minimum wage……
In a previous post, I argued that in order to compel arbitration in Minnesota, an employer must attempt to come within the purview of the Federal Arbitration Act (FAA) and not just the Minnesota Uniform Arbitration Act (MAA) because of the ruling in Correll, D.D.S v. Distinctive Dental Services, P.A……
Often, when a plaintiff files a lawsuit, there’s an arbitration agreement somewhere in his or her personnel file. And, unbeknownst to the plaintiff’s counsel, the claims brought actually should be arbitrated—not litigated. But how can an employer compel arbitration? As an initial matter, this article will not discuss the pros and…..