Person holding open passport book.

On February 2, 2020, the United States joined a growing list of countries that have implemented travel restrictions for those at risk of transmitting the 2019 Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV). Below is a summary of the measures that have been implemented pending further notice.

Foreign Nationals

Pursuant to a proclamation signed by President Donald Trump on January 31, 2020, the United States will bar the entry of foreign nationals if they were physically present in China within 14 days prior to their traveling to the United States.

Exceptions include but are not limited to

  • lawful permanent residents;
  • foreign national spouses of U.S. citizens or lawful permanent residents; and
  • foreign national parents of unmarried U.S. citizens or lawful permanent resident children under the age of 21.

U.S. Citizens

On January 31, 2020, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services implemented a mandatory quarantine of up to 14 days for U.S. citizens returning to the United States who traveled to Hubei Province, China, within the past 14 days.

U.S. citizens who traveled to other parts of China within the previous 14 days will be subject to an enhanced health screening upon arrival at a select number of ports of entry and may be required to self-quarantine for up to 14 days.

On February 2, 2020, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced that U.S. citizens traveling to the United States from China would be rerouted to the following airports for an enhanced health screening (at no cost to the traveler):

  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York
  • Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD), Illinois
  • San Francisco International Airport (SFO), California
  • Seattle–Tacoma International Airport (SEA), Washington
  • Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL), Hawaii
  • Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), California
  • Hartsfield–Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL), Georgia
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), Virginia
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), New Jersey
  • Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW), Texas
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW), Michigan

According to DHS, if a traveler who spent time in China (but outside Hubei Province) shows no signs or symptoms following a health screening, that person will be rebooked to his or her destination and asked to self-quarantine at home. Travelers may experience delays.

It is also worth noting that the U.S. Embassy and Consulates in China will be closed from February 3 to February 7, 2020. The U.S. Department of State warns that the ability of the embassy and consulates to assist U.S. citizens in China may be limited.

Ogletree Deakins’ coronavirus team, which has covered various aspects of the virus and provided an overview of recent developments, tips from a workplace safety perspective, and information affecting international employers, will continue to monitor and report on the outbreak.

Browse More Insights

Practice Group

Employment Law

Ogletree Deakins’ employment lawyers are experienced in all aspects of employment law, from day-to-day advice to complex employment litigation.

Learn more
Close up of american visa label in passport. SHallow depth of field.
Practice Group


Ogletree Deakins has one of the largest business immigration practices in the United States and provides a wide range of legal services for employers seeking temporary business visas and permanent residence on behalf of foreign national employees.

Learn more
Businessmen walking and talking in empty warehouse
Practice Group

Workplace Safety and Health

The Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) practice of Ogletree Deakins is characterized by the knowledge and credibility of our attorneys, and the exceptional level of service that we provide to our clients.

Learn more

Sign up to receive emails about new developments and upcoming programs.

Sign Up Now