The Department of Homeland Security’s Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) program will become mandatory on January 12, 2009.  At that time, all Visa Waiver Program (VWP) travelers will be required to obtain an ESTA approval prior to boarding a carrier to travel by air or sea (land ports from Canada and Mexico are exempt).  Online resources include the steps to register for ESTA program, an information page and a government FAQ sheet.

Note: This article was published in the December 2008 issue of the Immigration eAuthority.


Browse More Insights

Close up of American visa label in passport. Shallow depth of field.
Practice Group


Ogletree Deakins has one of the largest business immigration practices in the United States and provides a wide range of legal services for employers seeking temporary business visas and permanent residence on behalf of foreign national employees.

Learn more

Sign up to receive emails about new developments and upcoming programs.

Sign Up Now