Effective January 1, 2007, the minimum wage in North Carolina increased to $6.15 an hour. Although the new legislation fails to address the impact of raising the minimum wage on the wage payment for tipped employees, the North Carolina Department of Labor (NCDOL) has issued guidance suggesting that tipped employees’ minimum wage payment must also be increased from $2.13 an hour to $3.13 an hour for those employees who earn at least $3.02 an hour in tips. As a result of these changes, the NCDOL has published an updated version of the required North Carolina Workplace Laws Poster.
All employers in North Carolina are required to post a copy of the Workplace Laws Poster in a conspicuous place where notices to employees are customarily posted. The poster contains information on several of the laws enforced by the NCDOL, including occupational safety and health, wage and hour, and employment discrimination. A copy of the updated poster may be obtained on the NCDOL’s website at http://www.nclabor.com/posters/posters.htm. The poster, which is listed under “N.C. Labor Laws Poster,” is available in both English and Spanish. Additionally, copies of the poster can be ordered directly from the NCDOL at http://www.nclabor.com/posters/NCPosters.html.
If you have any questions about the new minimum wage law or the new poster, contact the Ogletree Deakins attorney with whom you normally work or the Client Services Department via e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org or by phone at 866-287-2576.
Note: This article was published in the January 25, 2007 issue of the North Carolina eAuthority.