As of January 1, 2014, the minimum wage in Rhode Island will jump $0.25 to $8.00 per hour. This is the second time in as many years that the General Assembly has voted to raise the minimum wage. The last increase occurred in January 2013, when the rate went from $7.40 to $7.75 per hour. The hike is viewed by some as a compromise measure for legislation that will allow employers to pay their employees bi-monthly as opposed to weekly.
Following a nationwide trend (including California, Delaware, Illinois, Pennsylvania, and other states), Wisconsin Governor Tony Evers announced he will be issuing a safer-at-home order in response to the COVID-19 outbreak. Governor Evers stated he would issue the order on Tuesday, March 24, 2020.
Washington State Enacts Healthy Starts Act, Requires Accommodation for Pregnant Employees Regardless of Disability
The new Washington state Healthy Starts Act requires employers with 15 or more employees to provide accommodations to pregnant employees above and beyond those accommodations required by other available laws, including the Washington Law Against Discrimination (WLAD) and the Americans with Disabilities Act Amendments Act (ADAAA). Some of the required accommodations must be provided without medical certification and regardless of whether such accommodations would create an undue hardship.
The New Jersey Supreme Court recently held that the 90-day notice of claim requirement under the New Jersey Tort Claims Act (TCA) does not apply to causes of action brought under the New Jersey Civil Rights Act (CRA).