The State Department has announced that the DV-2009 Lottery online entry begins at Noon EDT on October 3, 2007, and ends at Noon EST on December 2, 2007.  Up to 55,000 green cards will be granted under the 2009 program. 

Natives of the following countries are ineligible for the Diversity Lottery: BRAZIL, CANADA, CHINA (mainland born – persons born in Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR and Taiwan are eligible.), COLOMBIA, DOMINICAN REPUBLIC, EL SALVADOR, HAITI, INDIA, JAMAICA, MEXICO, PAKISTAN, PHILIPPINES, PERU, POLAND, RUSSIA, SOUTH KOREA, UNITED KINGDOM (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and VIETNAM.

Please visit for eligibility information and application instructions.

Note: This article was published in the August 28, 2007 issue of the Immigration eAuthority.


Browse More Insights

Close up of american visa label in passport. SHallow depth of field.
Practice Group


Ogletree Deakins has one of the largest business immigration practices in the United States and provides a wide range of legal services for employers seeking temporary business visas and permanent residence on behalf of foreign national employees.

Learn more

Sign up to receive emails about new developments and upcoming programs.

Sign Up Now