Person holding open passport book.

On December 31, 2021, the White House revoked Presidential Proclamation 10315, which had prohibited travel into the United States for travelers who were physically present in the following eight countries in southern Africa: Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

President Biden issued the presidential proclamation on November 26, 2021, after the new COVID-19 Omicron variant was detected in southern Africa. Since the presidential proclamation went into effect, the Omicron variant has been identified in more than 100 countries. The suspension of the country/location-based restrictions took effect days after the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) announced new COVID-19 quarantine guidelines.

Remaining Travel Restrictions

This latest announcement does not repeal travel restrictions that require all international air travelers to the United States to present proof of vaccination status and proof of a negative COVID-19 test taken within a day of travel or documentation of recent COVID-19 recovery.

Ogletree Deakins’ Immigration Practice Group will continue to monitor developments with respect to these and other policy changes and will post updates on the Immigration blog and in the firm’s Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resource Center as additional information becomes available. Important information for employers is also available via the firm’s webinar and podcast programs.


Browse More Insights

Close up of american visa label in passport. SHallow depth of field.
Practice Group


Ogletree Deakins has one of the largest business immigration practices in the United States and provides a wide range of legal services for employers seeking temporary business visas and permanent residence on behalf of foreign national employees.

Learn more

Sign up to receive emails about new developments and upcoming programs.

Sign Up Now