The Year 2020 Will Begin With an Increase to Florida’s Minimum Wage

The Florida Minimum Wage Act, which applies to all employees in Florida covered by the federal minimum wage, requires the state’s Department of Economic Opportunity to calculate a new minimum wage rate each year on September 30. The wage rate is based on the percentage increase in the federal Consumer Price Index (CPI) for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers in the South Region for the 12-month period prior to September 1. Florida’s minimum wage is currently $8.46 per hour. According to state government officials, beginning January 1, 2020, Florida’s minimum wage is scheduled to rise to $8.56 per hour, which is a $0.10, or 1.12 percent increase, due to the change in the CPI.

Florida’s Minimum Wage to Increase on January 1, 2018

Florida voters approved a constitutional amendment that created Florida’s minimum wage in November of 2004. The minimum wage applies to all employees in the state covered by the federal minimum wage. Florida law requires a new minimum wage calculation each year on September 30, based on the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index (CPI) in the South Region for the 12-month period prior to September 1.

Florida’s Minimum Wage to Increase on January 1, 2017

In 2004, Florida voters approved a constitutional amendment that established a statewide minimum wage. The Florida minimum wage applies to all employees in the state who are covered by the federal minimum wage. The Florida minimum wage law requires a new minimum wage calculation each year on September 30. These calculations are based on the percentage increase in the federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers in the South Region for the 12-month period prior to September 1. If that calculation is higher than the federal rate, Florida’s minimum wage rate takes effect the following January.

Florida’s Workers’ Comp System Goes Back to the Future . . . at the Expense of Your Premiums

On April 16, 2016, the Florida Supreme Court will hear another in a long line of cases brought by plaintiffs’ lawyers trying to turn the clock back on Florida’s Workers’ Compensation Law. Before 2003, employers in Florida had some of the highest insurance costs in the entire country. Despite the high premiums, employees arguably received the least in benefits actually paid.

Hillsborough County, Florida Passes Wage Theft Ordinance

On October 21, 2015, the Hillsborough County Board of Commissioners enacted the “Hillsborough County Wage Recovery Ordinance.” By it terms, the ordinance applies to all employers within Hillsborough County and any company with an employee or independent contractor who performs work within Hillsborough County.  The ordinance also applies to “third-party labor providers,” although the Board left this term undefined.

New Pinellas County Wage Theft Ordinance Goes Into Effect January 1

The commissioners of Pinellas County recently adopted a wage theft ordinance that will become effective on January 1, 2016. The ordinance provides that if any employer fails to pay wages of at least $60 due to an employee 14 days or more from the date the work was performed, the failure to pay will be deemed “wage theft.” However, if the employer has established a regular pay period longer than 14 days, the wages may be paid according to that schedule. “Employee” is defined as an individual “who performs work within the geographic boundaries of Pinellas County while being employed by an employer, but shall not include any bona fide independent contractor.”

Ogletree Governmental Affairs State Round-Up

In the past few months, a number of state and local developments have emerged that are likely to resonate across the country. The following is a tour of some of the most recent and significant state-specific legislation, legal rulings, and other developments occurring around the United States.

Florida’s Minimum Wage Likely to Remain Unchanged on January 1, 2016

On November 2, 2004, Florida voters approved a constitutional amendment that created Florida’s minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to all employees in the state covered by the federal minimum wage. Florida law requires a new minimum wage calculation on September 30 of each year, based on the Consumer Price Index. If that calculation proves higher than the federal rate, the state’s rate would be adjusted and would then take effect the following January.

City of St. Petersburg, Florida Passes Wage Theft Ordinance

Under the new City of St. Petersburg “wage theft” ordinance, an employer commits wage theft when the employer fails to pay wages, or a portion of wages, due to an employee within a “reasonable time” (typically 14 business days) from the date on which that employee performed the work. Upon a finding by a hearing officer that an employer failed to pay wages, or a portion of wages, an employee will be entitled to recover back wages, liquidated damages (i.e., two times the amount of back wages owed), reasonable costs, and attorneys’ fees from that employer.

Increase in Florida’s Minimum Wage

In 2004, the state of Florida enacted a constitutional amendment, establishing a state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to all employees in the state who are covered by the federal minimum wage. Florida law requires a new minimum wage calculation each year on September 30, based on the Consumer…..